JANUARY  13, 2021 - At the Hilton Omaha Hotel - 1001 Cass St,   OMAHA,  NEBRASKA


Press Release 3 – WINNER ANNOUNCED

Press Release  The Tom Osborne Legacy Award Reciepient Announced – Bobby Bowden Click Here

Press Release 2017 – Release #1  Click Here

The Greater Omaha Sports Committee
In Cooperation With The Omaha World Herald,
Downtown Omaha Rotary and Douglas County

7015 SPRING ST * OMAHA, NEBRASKA 68106-3518
(402) 346-8003 * FAX (402) 346-5412




For the 22th consecutive year, the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) has awarded Omaha the Outland Trophy Award Dinner presentation. This Year the Outland Trophy Award Dinner will be held Wednesday, January 9, 2019, at the Downtown DoubleTree Hotel, Omaha, Nebraska.


The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards will be televised on ESPN Thursday, Dec. 7, from 7-9 p.m. from the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, GA, where this year’s Outland Award winner will be announced. This year’s winner and his coach will be in attendance at the Dinner on January 10th.


outland silouetteThe FWAA awarded the Outland Trophy Award Dinner to the Greater Omaha Sports Committee in 1997.   Since that time the Sports Committee has presented the Outland Trophy to Aaron Taylor –NU (’97),  Kris Farris –UCLA (’98), Chris Samuels –Alabama (’99), John Henderson –University of Tennessee (2000), Bryant McKinnie –University of Miami (2001), Rien Long –Washington State University (2002), Robert Gallery – University of Iowa (2003), Jammal Brown – University of Oklahoma (2004), Greg Eslinger – University of Minnesota (2005) – Joe Thomas, University of Wisconsin (2006), Glenn Dorsey, Louisiana State University (2007), Andre Smith, University of Alabama (2008), Ndamukong Suh, University of Nebraska (2009), Gabe Carimi, University of Wisconsin (2010), Barrett Jones, University of Alabama (2011), Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M University (2012), Aaron Donald, University of Pittsburgh (2013), Brandon Scherff, University of Iowa (2014), Joshua Garnett, Stanford University (2015), Cam Robinson, Alabama (2016) and last year to Ed Oliver from Houston..   

        Also appearing at the dinner for the 21st straight year will be the winners of Nebraska’s football senior awards Tom Novak Trophy, given annually to the senior who “best exemplifies courage and determination despite all odds.”  Guy Chamberlin Trophy, which goes to the senior “who has shown by his play on and off-field contributions to the betterment of the Nebraska football squad in the tradition of Guy Chamberlin” and Cletus Fischer Native Son Award, given annually by the coaches to the player who “best exemplifies good work ethic, competitiveness, leadership, pride and love of Nebraska”.


The 5th Annual Tom Osborne Legacy Award will be presented to Frank Solich – the former Husker Coach and Miami of Ohio Coach at the Outland Trophy Award Dinner.  See attached bio on Coach Frank Solich.   The Tom Osborne Legacy Award is awarded for making extraordinary contributions to the Outland Trophy and to the interior line play in college football; for exhibiting the characteristics of integrity, sportsmanship and fair play associated with Tom Osborne; for demonstrating a record of leadership and good citizenship in the community that’s consistent with Rotary International’s primary motto, “Service Above Self”.  The inaugural award was presented to Milt Tenopir, Coach from University of Nebraska, Jim Ridlon Sr from the University of Syracuse, then to legendary coach from Oklahoma Barry Switzer and last year to a Legend in his own right Bobby Bowden ..


The Outland Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website, www.NCFAA.org.


NCFAA logo National College Football Awards Association
The Outland Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 23 awards boast 765 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit NCFAA.org to learn more about the NCFAA.


In 2015, The Home Depot College Football Awards moved to a new home at the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in downtown Atlanta. Airing live on ESPN on December 7, 2017, college football’s brightest stars will be honored for their performance on and off the field at The Home Depot College Football Awards.


The Outland Trophy Semi-Finalists Reception will be Thursday, Nov 14, 2018 in Omaha, Nebraska.  The 6 or 7 Semi-Finalists will be announced Live from Omaha Nebraska.


The 2018 Outland Trophy Award winner will be presented live on December 6, 2018, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast 7:00 – 9:00pm (EST) on ESPN.


The 2018 Outland Award winner will be presented the Outland Trophy Award at the Outland Trophy Award Dinner Sponsored by Werner at the Downtown Doubletree Hotel in Omaha Nebraska on Wednesday, Jan 9, 2019.   The Award Dinner is a highlight for the Outland Trophy Award Winner and one of the the best banquets in college sports.


The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All- America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tiger@fwaa.com or 972-713-6198.

The Greater Omaha Sports Committee, founded in 1977, is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization, consisting of more than 1000 men and women from the City of Omaha, the State of Nebraska, and others.   The membership serves to communicate, develop, initiate and promote sports activities in the Greater Omaha sports area.      In addition to the Outland Trophy Award Dinner, the Greater Omaha Sports Committee promotes high school, college, and professional sports in the Greater Omaha area and the Midwest.


For Additional Information, Contact:

Greater Omaha Sports Committee

7015 Spring Street, Omaha, NE 68106-3518

(402) 346-8003 * Fax (402) 346-5412 * info@showofficeonline.com


Copyright 2017 Greater Omaha Sports Committee –