JANUARY  10, 2018  –  At the  Downtown DoubleTree Hotel  – 16TH & DODGE ST ,  OMAHA,NEBRASKA

For the 21st consecutive year, The Greater Omaha Sports Committee and Football Writers Association of America will present the 72nd Outland Trophy to college football’s top interior lineman, last year Cam Robinson, Offensive Tacle from the University of Alabama was the


Outland Trophy winner. Back to Emcee the Outland Trophy Award Dinner again will be Greg Sharpe (the voice of the Huskers). The Outland Trophy Award Dinner will be held Wednesday, January 10th at 7:00 pm at the Downtown DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, 16th & Dodge Streets.

The Outland Trophy, which has been awarded annually by the FWAA since 1946, is named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Pennsylvania in the late 1800s. It is the third oldest player award in major-college football behind the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award.

Last years Outland Trophy Dinner was a huge success. Three Past Outland Award recipients were present to welcome Cam Robinson to the Outland Fraternity. Besides Oklahoma’s Greg Roberts, the 1978 winner, who also finally received his Outland Trophy, the University of Nebraska’s Larry Jacobson ’71 and Dave Rimington ’81, ’82, were present as well as ’71 Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Rodgers and ’78 Heisman winner Billy Sims along with Rob Zatechka, Jerry Murtaugh, Joe Washington, Thomas Lott and many others. All helped make this a Special night.



This prestigious football evening will also feature a former Outland Award Winner. Last Year we presented the Outland Trophy to the University of Oklahoma, Greg Roberts the 1978 Outland Trophy Award Winner. The Downtown Rotary is sponsoring this Outland Trophy. From 1946 through 1987, the Outland winner was presented a plaque and not the authentic Outland Trophy.

The 4th Tom Osborne Legacy Award Sponsored by Omaha Downtown Rotary also will be presented at the dinner.

Tom Osborne, the legendary former Nebraska coach, will recognize a coach or player who made contributions to the Outland Trophy or interior line play in college football and who has made great contributions to the game through charity and community work. This year the Tom Osborne Legacy Award recipient is  Bobby Bowden, Florida State University head Football Coach.  

One of the most dynamic coaches in College Football. Bowden led FSU to his 1st National Title in 1993 by beating Nebraska in one of the most memorable championship games in history. He then went on to a BCS National Championship in 1999, as well as twelve Atlantic Coast Conference championships since FSU joined the conference in 1991.

The Amazing Night doesn’t stop there, we will also recognize at the dinner for the 20th straight year the Nebraska Football Senior Awards winners, Last years 2016 Award Winners were – the Novak Trophy – Tommy Armstrong , the Chamberlin Trophy – Jordan Westerkamp and the Cletus Fischer Native Son – Josh Banderas and Sam Foltz.

Semi – Finalists Reception – Thursday Nov 16, 2017

at Old MatTress Factory Downtown


Omaha also will Host the 4th Annual Outland Semi-Finalists Announcement Reception Party. The Football Writers Association narrowed the search of the best linemen throughout the country to 5-7 semi-finalists, it will be held at the Old Matress Factory Downtown (501 N 13th St.), Thursday – November 16th. Tickets are on sale Now! The Evening begins at 7pm when Greg Sharpe via Facetime congratulates the semi-finalists and we got to see their reactions Live to being selected and their responses and interactions to Greg’s questions. Also at this Event there are door prizes and a silent Auction! Doors open at 6pm.

As you can see,  if you are a football fan you want to be apart of these events. Tickets for this Event and the Outland Dinner on January 10th, are on Sale and can be Reserved by calling 402.346-8003.

Sponsored By:

Copyright 2017 Greater Omaha Sports Committee

Bob Mancuso, Jr – Chairman

bmancuso@showofficeonline.com      402-346-8003

7015 Spring St, Omaha, Ne 68106